i can’t make mental notes

give me a to-do list 🧠

welcome to introspection ft. harsehaj! ⭐️ i’m harsehaj, a 19 y/o always up to something in social good x tech.

this publication is a place for me to reflect on productivity, health and tech, and drop unique opportunities in the space right to your inbox daily. if you’re new here, sign up to tune in! 💌 

btw, feel free to reply with topic ideas you want me to write about for future posts.

onto today’s topic: i can’t make mental notes 🧠

documentation is a necessity for me. making mental notes is unreliable and i very rarely acknowledge a task i need to check off or café i should visit without writing it down somewhere. even better, i’ll immediately block out time on my calendar to revisit the thought at some point.

it may seem excessive, but i really hate losing information or track of my own thoughts. even with spontaneous adventures, i’ll automatically start readjusting my mental schedule until i’m satisfied with it. then, i’ll physically adjust it on my daily notion page.

even a simple:

10am-?: adventure

before 1am: write blog & sleep 😴 

makes me feel at ease once again. having reminders, dates, to-do’s, and deadlines stored mentally is unnecessary baggage and a recipe for stress. by offloading things from my brain and subbing in technology and lists for reminders and deadlines, it’s easier for me to enjoy the present.

mental notes sometimes feel like a pit of dread. i don’t like the feeling that comes with thinking, “i’m forgetting something extremely important” or “there was a restaurant i really wanted to visit in this area but i’m forgetting the name.”

whether it’s immediately loading a task onto my google calendar or adding a café to a location card on my travel itinerary, i avoid relying on making mental notes as much as possible. ❌ i do, however, enjoy relying on mental notes when it comes to navigation. i have this weird thing where i love abandoning google maps and use my memory or landmarks to reach a destination. i feel accomplished afterwards LOL.

daily opportunity + resource drops 🔍️  

if you’re interested in my project/life updates, check out my other bi-monthly newsletter: harsehaj’s headquarters. or, just reply to this email saying you’d like to opt in to emails from my headquarters.

if you think a friend would enjoy tuning in, feel free to share the subscribe link to introspection ft. harsehaj: harsehaj.beehiiv.com/subscribe.

teehee,
harsehaj ✌️

PS. if you have a question/topic you think would be interesting for me to reflect on, don’t hesitate to reply to my emails with any ideas you ever have. :)

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to introspection ft. harsehaj to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Join the conversation

or to participate.