my favourite thing to do

aside from eating 🍽️

welcome to introspection ft. harsehaj! ⭐️ i’m harsehaj, an 18 y/o always up to something in social good x tech.

this publication is a place for me to reflect on a new topic daily, and send it to your inbox. if you’re new here, sign up to tune in! you reading this is keeping me accountable, so thank you for that. as a treat, i drop cool resources/opportunities at the end. 💌 

btw, feel free to reply with topic ideas you want me to write about for future posts.

onto today’s topic: my favourite thing to do 🛼

i’ve gone through phases of dozens of different hobbies. embroidery, volleyball, painting, ballet, swimming .. you name it.

the one thing that never got old was going rollerblading. it started in grade 4 when i impulsively picked up a pair of skates at sportcheck. i practiced every day with scars all over my legs to prove the crashes i had with concrete.

yet the exhilaration when i speed down a street with music blasting through my headphones remains the same, 8 years later. 🎧

i often catch myself working away on my laptop for hours on end, with a headache creeping up on me. i then snap out of my work-zombie status and rush outside the house with my headphones and rollerblades in hand.

and just like magic, my mind clears and my body is rejuvenated. it’s probably because there isn’t much thinking involved with rollerblading — my feet fall into muscle memory and i soak in the music while my eyes flit along humans doing human things.

i have to admit, it also feels pretty nice when some random little kid stops and stares in awe.

i love rollerblading so much that i packed it in my suitcase with me when i was in vancouver for a month last summer. so, my skates have rolled along the ubc trails. 😋 

i also tried going once in winter … never again. unfortunately, i don’t love rollerblading enough to die for it.

ANYWAYS. yes, i love rollerblading. it’s my favourite thing to do.

exercise, flexing in front of little kids, fresh air, a sprinkle of nostalgia & an adrenaline boost? ofc it’s my favourite.

cool finds of the day 🔍️ 

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to introspection ft. harsehaj to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.